Skip to content

Happy Birthday Mom

April 5, 2011

Those that know me well know that I have an unbelievably close relationship with my parents. Rarely does a day go by without us communicating in some form or fashion. Phone calls, email, text messages, Facebook and now Skype. I’m pretty sure we’d use Floo Powder if we could.

When a day goes by and I haven’t spoken to my parents, my calls are always greeted with a, “so you ARE alive!” response. I’ll inevitably roll my eyes a little but deep down I know that it is said in jest and with love.

While I talk to my parents probably more than most of my friends talk to theirs, I wouldn’t have it any other way. My parents are my best friends and my rock. We are a family that has moved more times than I can count and as a result we have had to lean and depend on each other more than we normally would have. We’ve been each other’s instant friends when we found ourselves in unknown lands and sounding board when change just wasn’t “doing us good.”

Today is my mother’s birthday (age unknown) and clearly I’ve already called and texted a few times. I woke up this morning and immediately began dialing her number to sing the traditional “Happy Birthday Jooste” song. As I was dialing I found myself reflecting on the past 26 (ugh, almost 27) years and couldn’t help but be overcome by emotion.

My mother knows me better than anyone else ever will. She knows when I’m lying by the tone of my voice and exactly what to say…even if it’s something she knows full well I don’t want to hear.

My mother has nursed me through countless bouts of illness (some more exaggerated than others) and has been there to mend a broken heart or two.

She was there to hold my hand and tell me everything would be ok when I unwillingly left for overnight camp and I was there to do the same for her when she unwillingly left me standing on my own in my college dorm room.

We’ve spent moments together where we’ve laughed so hard we couldn’t see straight (ahem PT Cruiser) and cried so hard we could barely breathe.

But most of all, my mother has been a part of every milestone I’ve had in my life; no matter the distance that separates us.

So, today I want to dedicate this blog post to my Mother. Happy Birthday Mom, here’s to the next 26+ years :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 8:05 am

    That’s great, Genevieve. Happy birthday, Mom. I can only hope that our daughters have a similar relationship as you have with your parents.

    • April 6, 2011 8:34 am

      My friends routinely marvel at how frequently my sister and I speak to our parents but for me anything otherwise would be out of the ordinary. From what I’ve read and seen, I have a feeling your family is very much like mine :) From the day my parents decided to have kids they were both firm in the fact that they wanted our family to be close – it is one of the most important things to them and I feel truly blessed that they ingrained that in us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

