Skip to content

A Week in Review

March 1, 2010

Few people know that, once upon a time, I worked at a Starbucks. To say that my family enjoys drinking coffee is an understatement. The smell of freshly brewed coffee has become like an alarm clock. The aroma hits me and I’m up and at ’em. So, when it came time to get a job during my school-free summer months, it seemed only logical to inquire at my local Starbucks where every barista could name my drink of choice. Embarrassing? I like to think of it as brand loyalty.

Nine years have gone by and I no longer don the signature black and green uniform, but my love for Starbucks remains as strong and true as ever. It used to be that Starbucks was a break during a busy afternoon, a treat to jump-start my morning or a time to soak in the company and conversation of my mother (it is she whom I have to thank for my coffee addiction). While it still remains all of those things, Starbucks have become something much much more for me.

Starbucks is an escape and, as it turns out, a source of endless entertainment.

See, I lost my job several months ago and to help prevent cabin-fever and one-on-one conversations with myself, I spend a few (well maybe more than a few) afternoons a week at Starbucks. Being surrounded by other Starbucks patrons is both comforting and fascinating. Watching their coming’s and going’s, picking up random string’s of conversation and discovering “the regular’s” can amuse me for hours. I’m not saying that I spend my afternoons at Starbucks watching people because that would just be weird. What I am saying is that I enjoy to people watch, as does everyone else, in between projects. And there have been things I have seen in Starbucks that I never thought I would see.

At first, I blasted out a sighting or two on Twitter because honestly, what I was seeing, I couldn’t keep to myself. I had to share these “spotting’s” with everyone else. Soon, I had people asking me to update them with my weekly “Starbucks Humor” and with that, “Spotted at Starbucks” was born.

Before I dive in, I want you, my reader, to know that my “spotting’s” are reported facts. They neither embellished, fabricated, nor modified. Just observations and cold hard facts. I will try extremely hard to not embed any judgment or opinion into these spotting’s. I will also never disclose the location because a) it makes things a little more mysterious and b) I would hate for people to stop visiting that Starbucks in fear of ending up on this blog. So, without further ado (drum roll please), I give you “Spotted at Starbucks – A Week in Review.”

The best of last week’s sighting’s:

  • Enter a man carrying a large plastic bag. The large plastic bag seemed to house several Tupperware containers so this immediately sparked my interest. What could he possibly be keeping in there?? My mind began to race with endless possibilities. Well this gentleman sat down, quite close to me I might add, and proceeded to produce what looked like to be the making’s of a salad. And not just any salad, but a tuna salad, complete with tuna still in can (side note: the smell of tuna renders me weak at the knees). At first I thought that I must have been seeing things because there was NO WAY this man was about to make a tuna salad in Starbucks. Oh, I was so so wrong and naive. Peeling back the can, he gingerly dumped the tuna into the biggest Tupperware container which seemed to be home to his leafy greens. Next came the mayo, pre-cut carrots, tomatoes and what looked to be green peppers. A little flick of the wrist, a good hard shake up and down and VOILA! A tuna salad in Starbucks. Ten minutes later, salad devoured, the man packed up his containers and left. He gets an A+ for creativity and effort. By far one of the most amusing and awe-inspiring sights I saw all week.
  • But the absolute gem from my week arrived late Friday afternoon. It was a slow day at Starbucks and I had already resigned myself to the fact that nothing extraordinary or “out-of-place” was going to appear. Again, so wrong and naive was I. At exactly 4:30pm, a woman about my age walked into Starbucks carrying a gorgeous Vera Bradley tote that instantly captured my attention (men, if you have no idea what I’m talking about, just think large bag on woman’s shoulder). As I sat admiring her tote, planning to ask what style it was, the bag started to jiggle and wiggle against her side. If I had to be specific, I would actually say it looked more like the bag was convulsing which, if you aren’t expecting it, can be quite startling. So startling in fact, I almost spilled my latte. After two or three convulsions out popped the source: a small brown and black chihuahua. It wasn’t so much the “dog in bag” that threw me, it was that this particular “dog in bag” combo got placed on the back of her chair and remained there while she had coffee with a friend. It just sat there, hanging out in the Vera. What’s more is that, if her four-legged friend started to move and squirm around she didn’t skip a beat in conversation, just reached back and offered him a few pats to calm him down. The icing on the cake was when a small child approached the dog and fed it coffee cake! Again, not one word in conversation was missed. She too get’s an A+ for originality and “best sighting of the week.”

This blog is just for the best of the best because honestly, if I reported what I saw everyday you, my reader, would have to arm yourself with provisions before sitting down to read. I could write a novel, I’m that observant. I just hope that this week will be as unique and entertaining.

For now, I’d like to ask, what have you seen in Starbucks lately?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Petal Petunia permalink
    March 1, 2010 6:21 pm

    OMG Gen….those were gems. I have this vision of the dog-in-bag, no baby cino for the hound? Thanks for the entertainment. xx

  2. March 1, 2010 9:09 pm

    Brillant! I smell a new meme about to blast off. This is bigger than that thing I did. We’ve seen peopleofwallmart.com – now spottedatstarbucks.com is the next big thing. Calling you tomorrow.

  3. Keels permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:41 am

    Gen, so happy you are writing this! I have missed you mucho and this gives me a little insight into your life these days (creepy, no?)…keep ’em coming! xo

Leave a Reply

