Skip to content

Rising Above Rejection…

March 28, 2010

No one forgets a moment of rejection because no one takes rejection well.

It is a feeling, a memory, a moment in time that stays with you for life. And, each time you let your mind fall back to that moment, it feels like it is happening all over again for the very first time. That pain is still fresh, still raw, and that pit in the depths of your stomach is as deep as ever. It doesn’t matter if you got rejected yesterday, last week or a few years ago. Reliving that one moment still has the ability to knock you off of your high horse and make you take a really good look at yourself.

That is what I love and hate about rejection. It knocks you down but it also forces you to pick yourself back up. No one else can do it for you.

Growing up, I was fortunate enough to not be rejected by the boy I asked to prom, from my university of choice or from my first attempt at landing a job after graduating from that university. In fact, up until last summer, I had never experienced that earth shattering moment of rejection.

Then I lost my job.

That Friday afternoon forever changed my life because that one moment, lasting no more than 10 minutes, led me down a path of numerous rejections. Each one harder and more devastating than its predecessor. Each one forcing me to take a deep breath, compose my thoughts and remind myself that, as cliché as it is, everything happens for a reason.

Nevertheless, I went through the standard rollercoaster of thoughts and emotions that I had heard tell of. I cried. I lost sleep. I yelled. I thought to myself, “How could this have happened to me?”…“What am I doing wrong?”

But after all of the emotions, tirades and somber moments, I realized that there was a silver-lining to these rejections. That silver-lining was a wake-up call. A realization that I could either let the rejections beat me down or I could use them to make me a stronger, more confident person.

That is what I love about rejection.

It may knock you down but, for those that embrace it, it will ignite ambition, accelerate drive and motivate determination.

One Comment leave one →
  1. C-Bone permalink
    April 6, 2010 2:16 pm

    I thought I was getting a promotion when I was called into my bosses office. Turns out I was being laid off…But I agree it has been a huge learning experience and definitely forces you to grow!

Leave a Reply

