Skip to content

Hello World! It’s me…Genevieve

April 1, 2010

Today, I think that many people who know me would say that I’m somewhat of an extrovert. I use the word “somewhat” because, by definition, extroverts tend to be gregarious, assertive, and always on the hunt for that “dare to be great” moment. These are qualities I am still nurturing.

I was not always outgoing. I was not always confident. And I certainly was not always willing to put myself into a room full of strangers and feel comfortable doing so. In fact, I was the complete opposite.

There was a time when I could not speak to people on the phone, ask a waiter a question about the menu or even look new acquaintances in the eye. I would rather have hidden myself in a closet or underneath my bed than be in a room full of strangers.

By definition, I was about as shy as shy goes.

Overcoming that shyness, that desire to just blend into the background and remain unnoticed, has taken me a very, very long time. And, to say that I am 100% there would be a lie.

I’m not sure that I could name the conversation, event or moment that allowed me to step out of my introvert shell, but whatever it was I’m thankful for it. I’m thankful because it allowed me to eventually become the type of extrovert who puts herself out there.

And let me tell you, to put yourself out there, and I mean truly 100% put yourself out there, is hard. It takes confidence and tremendous courage. It takes knowing a lot about yourself and the type of person you want to be.

Moving to a new city and subsequently navigating through the unfamiliar territory of unemployment opened my eyes to the person known as “Genevieve.” I discovered so much about myself and who I want to be.

As my mother would say, that discovery has changed my overall package and has given me the strength to say “Peace out background! I’m stepping into the limelight.”

I’m no longer afraid of walking into a room full of strangers. I embrace those situations and choose to thrive in them. Meeting new people, building relationships and adventuring into the unknown…those are all natural highs for me now.

That being said, I will still be the first to admit that putting yourself out there is scary. But I will say that, for those who have the self-belief to at least try – the rewards are limitless.

You never know, putting yourself out there could steer you out of unemployment into the land of the employed.

It worked for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. KARENPRGIRL permalink
    April 1, 2010 9:09 am

    And we’re so happy you did!

  2. April 1, 2010 9:13 am

    Wise words from a wise lady. And I can’t wait for the day that I get to meet your mom too! I like her advice!

  3. Lelia King permalink
    April 1, 2010 9:21 am

    This is perfect for me to read today, as today is officially the 1 year anniversary of my last day at my old job. And, I survived 😉 Love you!

Leave a Reply

