Skip to content

Standing Out in the Crowd

April 2, 2010

Yesterday, I read updates on Twitter that truly made my heart smile. Updates that had me giddy with excitement.

What were these updates you might ask? Well, to the average person they were by no means life altering nor were they the type of update that would stop traffic. But for me, a blogger with a passion for all things new, these were big, bold, exciting updates.

You see, several friends of mine and companies that I like to keep tabs on announced that they had launched or were planning to launch their own blog. Music to my ears 🙂

Then it got me thinking. With new blogs popping up every day and probably every hour for that matter, how does one go about creating a blog that truly stands out from the crowd?

As I sat pondering the question about blogs, creativity and individuality, my mind came to rest upon the 2000 MTV Video Music Awards performance of “The Real Slim Shady” by Eminem. As he belted forth his infamous lyrics, “will the real Slim Shady please stand up”, Radio City Music Hall was invaded with an army of blonde white-T wearing Eminem look a-likes.

Eminem’s point?

While imitation may be considered the sincerest form of flattery, there can only be one Eminem. No one can truly replicate him because he is his own person, his own personal brand. And that was enough to make him rise above the rest and get noticed.

So, how does one go about creating a blog that truly stands out from the crowd?

The answer is authenticity. Remaining true to who you are. That is the secret to creating a blog that differs from all the rest.

No one can write like you can and no one can think the way that you do. They may try, but it will not be the same.

I’ve read many blogs that rank in the top 100 most read list and I’ve thought about following in their footsteps so that I too can claim ownership to a famous and widely read blog. But if I’m merely following in their footsteps and not creating something uniquely Genevieve, would it even matter if my blog became one of the most widely read on the internet?

Yes it would be exciting to have a famous blog but, at the end of the day, that blog would not walk my walk or talk my talk.  It would be an imitation.

And I’ve come to learn that blog readers are not blind. They can spot an imitation from a mile away.

The only way to “make it” in this blogosphere world is to be truly authentic. 100% you.

That is the way to get noticed.

Becoming famous? Well, I’m still working on that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 4:43 pm

    I think you’re famous!

    • April 2, 2010 4:53 pm

      You are an absolute sweetheart and I adore you 🙂 Thank you for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

