Skip to content

The Person I Call Friend

April 3, 2010

This morning I woke up, plodded downstairs, ready to commence my morning routine which, dear reader, typically involves a freshly brewed cup of coffee and a peruse of the Twitter scene to see what has made news headlines.

This morning, hidden amongst the endless stream of iPad-mania, was a piece of news that instantly grabbed my attention. This tidbit of information was a simple yet extremely powerful blog idea, provided by Gary Vaynerchuck.

Had it not been for Gary, I would not have known that today, April 3rd, was “Good People Day.” In honor of such a special day, he proposed that everyone write a blog, take a picture or shoot a video about the wonderful, awesome people who have come into our lives.

I’m more than happy to oblige but as I sit here furiously typing away I realize that it is almost impossible for me to name one person. Instead, I elect to write about the amazing, wonderful, always inspiring person known as “friend.”

Friend has become an extremely important part of my life, one of the most important to be exact.

When I was growing up, this person known as friend came in the form of my mother, father and sister. As we moved from city to city and country to country, my family became my friend. Someone I could always depend on, lean on, play with, and go to with just about any problem.

Those moments made me realize how valuable a friend is and how important it is to have a friend in your life. A life without friendship after all, is not a life worth living.

Since then, I’ve learned many things about this wonderful person.

I’ve learned that I do not have to be living in the same city to remain close to my friend because a true friendship can and will overcome the obstacle of distance.

I’ve learned that with true friendship comes the gift of unconditional love because a friend will love you no matter what you say, what you do or what you write in your blog.

I’ve learned that a friend will provide you with some of the happiest moments of your life, but I’ve also learned that a friend will provide you with some of your more frustrating and “not so happy” moments.

I’ve learned that the person whom I call friend helps keep me in check.

But above all, I’ve learned that the person whom I call friend challenges me to be a better person, each and every day.

So today, in honor of “Good People Day”, I celebrate the person I call friend.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Bo Hussey permalink
    April 3, 2010 4:05 pm

    “…the person whom I call friend challenges me to be a better person, each and every day.”

    What more can you ask for than that one line? I’ve believed for a long time that to be successful, you have to surround yourself with people that challenge you to grow. Thanks for reminding me… and for sharing with others!

  2. Gabi permalink
    May 2, 2010 9:00 am

    A toast to all the incredible ‘friends’ in the world – our mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers, cousins, aunts, uncles, grandmothers, grandfathers and friends.

  3. August 1, 2010 11:39 am

    Friends keep us sane and grounded. But, there is always the one that loves you no matter what, but will also be completely honest and push you to be your best. Those, are the ones you want to keep closest to your heart.

  4. August 20, 2010 7:35 am

    This is a piece of writing, thinking and heart that I shall save forever. Thank you Gen.

    • August 20, 2010 8:14 am

      Thank you for such a wonderful compliment Alina 🙂 It really was one of my favorite blog posts to write thus far. It’s been an incredible journey and I’m so excited to see where it leads me

Leave a Reply

