Skip to content

Back from “Vacation”

August 1, 2010

“It’s a big commitment but I know you can do it!”

“What a great challenge to take on, can’t wait to see it all come together”

“Your first few posts have been great, I can’t wait to read the next one!”

“It’s been weeks Genevieve … when are you going to update your blog?”

When you start entertaining the idea of creating a blog everyone is quick to congratulate you, tell you how excited they are, but they’re also quick to tell you how big of a commitment owning a blog can be. You’re quick to thank them, tell them how excited you are, but you’re also quick to forget their cautionary words.

The first blog post is like an adrenaline rush. Pushing the “publish” button, your heart is racing and you feel the butterflies race through you like your cresting the top of a huge hill on a rollercoaster…seconds from plunging to the bottom. I did. I will never forget dancing around my kitchen, hands in the air, happier than I had been in a long, long time. I couldn’t wait to start on my next blog post and then the one after that and the one after that. I lay in bed at night thinking of ideas and possible topics to write about. In a world full of “what if’s” and uncertainties (remember I was unemployed at the time), writing content for my blog was the only stable and tangible thing I could take hold of.

Then, when I was least expecting it, my life took a turn down several different paths. The most exciting and important path was the path of employment. In a whirlwind of interviews, resumes and phone calls, I got a job doing exactly what I wanted to do. After almost a year of searching, the excitement was more than I could bear. I closed the curtain on my old life and dove into my new one head first. I wanted to forget the passive, timid and unsure side of myself. So I closed the curtain. But when I closed the curtain on that part of myself I also closed it on the part that loved, and I mean loved, to express and to share. The part that loved to blog.

When they tell you that blogging is a responsibility, they’re telling you that for a reason. Those are words to the wise that can not simply fly in one ear and out the other. Those are words that have to stick and stay with you as you embark on your blogging journey. There are bound to be bumps in the road and life will undoubtedly get in the way but those words have to stick. For many there will be a fork in the path of blogging. You can choose the path of persistence or you can choose the other path.

For awhile, I thought I would find myself trapped into choosing the other path. But I realized that all I needed to do was once again choose to simply close the curtain on another part of myself. A part of myself that, in my opinion, had overstayed its welcome. That part was the part that was willing to sacrifice and give up more than I ever needed to or should.

So I’m back and I’m happy to report that it feels better than I ever thought it would.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 10:15 pm

    Welcome back, love!

  2. August 2, 2010 3:01 pm

    Good to see you back in the game, Genevieve. Building a blog is definitely a long-term project, but if you stick with it, you’ll have something that can shape the world around you.

    The old spaghetti adage always seems to apply: Keep throwing stuff against the wall and see what sticks.

    Congrats, and welcome back.

    • August 3, 2010 10:13 am

      Thanks Scott! It really helps to belong to such an encouraging and inspiring community 🙂 As you told me earlier, patience, grasshopper. I’m just gonna keep working at it and seeing what happens.

Leave a Reply

