Skip to content

Plant a Seed

August 2, 2010

My yoga instructor told us to plant three seeds. These seeds could be seeds of prosperity, happiness, love, courage, persistence, bravery, adventure, laughter…whatever you felt was missing from your life. She asked that we nurture our seeds and help them grow so that we may become more complete and that our lives may become richer and fuller. If you don’t plant these seeds, she told us, then you allow the weeds to grow. Those weeds, all those negative things in your life, will continue to grow until one day, you look up to find yourself standing in their shadow.

Tonight, I only have to plant two seeds because I’ve already planted my first and have been nurturing it diligently.

My first seed was and most likely will be the hardest seed that I have to plant. To nurture bravery, which I believe goes hand in hand with courage (yes, it’s a two-in-one seed, I cheated, so sue me), is so much easier said than done. People can say that they’re brave and that they have the courage to do what doesn’t seem possible. But, when push comes to shove, and you’re staring that hard and impossible moment or task in the face, do bravery and courage show up? Are they there, ready to fight the fight and win the battle? If you’ve nurtured them and taken the time to really help them grow, they’ll show up. Whether you believe it or not.

Being brave and having the courage to stand up for yourself and what you believe in can undoubtedly be one of the scariest, proudest and most defining moments of your life. Those moments however, are never easy ones to face. It would be so much easier to turn a blind eye and just pretend it didn’t or isn’t happening. But would you still be happy, could you move on, knowing that you had the chance to stand up for yourself…but didn’t?

To have the courage to be brave and stand up for myself, my feelings, my life…that is the seed I planted several weeks ago and that is the seed that I’m continuing to nurture and grow. I’ve had to do it a few times recently and unfortunately it doesn’t get any easier. But I know that each time I make the harder decision to do what doesn’t seem possible, I’ll become a better and stronger person because of it.

As for the other two seeds? Ugh, I guess I still have a few hours to figure those out. I’m thinking those will be a little less “heavy” and a little less serious. I’m a goofball at heart and I need something to balance out the “heavy”. So, maybe seed #2 will be laughter. Seed #3…maybe I’ll just leave that up to you guys.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2010 10:02 am

    Well done Genevieve. I’ve heard your greatest weaknesses will become your greatest strengths when you learn to overcome them.

    • August 3, 2010 10:12 am

      Thanks David! I’m certainly hoping that I can turn my weaknesses into strengths. It takes time but its worth the journey.

  2. Lelia King permalink
    August 3, 2010 10:13 am

    Genevieve, thank you for these words. I can’t tell you how excited I was to see in my email inbox not one, but TWO new postings for Joie de Vieve! Your words are so eloquent and wise, and you need to share them with the world. 😉

    Love!

  3. August 3, 2010 4:12 pm

    Genevieve – I’m so happy that you’ve decided to bring your blog back. I truly understand the struggle of enjoying blogging and actually commuting the time to do it.

    I love this post. I have had several yoga instructors who have really “planted seeds” (of love, laughter, courage, trust, thanks, giving, the list goes on…) in me to inspire me to become a better person. I think you’re off to a great start with your first seed! Don’t stress about the other two.

    I hope you keep up your blog and your yoga practice! 🙂 (Oh and your half-marathon training!)

Leave a Reply

