Skip to content

What’s On Your Bucket List?

August 4, 2010

Without fail, at some point in your life, you’ll say “oh I’ve always wanted to do that” or “I’m definitely going to try that someday.” I’m as guilty as the next person. I can’t even count the number of times I’ve seen something, heard something, read something and said to myself, “wouldn’t it be great if I could do that??” The BIG keyword in that little phrase….IF.

Why does it always have to be later? Why does it always have to be an if?  “Oh, I’d love to try that…just not right now, I’m not ready yet.” Why isn’t it a can and a now?

I feel like I’m constantly adding all of these amazing things to my bucket list. Things to try, places to see, books to read, movies to watch. The smaller things, the more tangible items, those are the ones that I can typically scratch off. Reading a book is easy. Going to the movies doesn’t take monumental effort. It’s the bigger things, the things that will have a bigger impact, that linger on and remain on my list.

I’ve always tried to be as active as possible. I played tennis growing up, added rowing to the mix in high school and, thanks to my parents, have been pretty good about making it to the gym over the years. I’m thankful that today, I have an active group of friends. Not too long ago we went hiking in Crowders Mountain Park and it was there, sitting on top of a mountain, gasping for breath, that I was confronted with one of my long-standing bucket list items.

A half-marathon.

I’ve always loved running and challenging myself to a half-marathon is something I’ve been thinking about for a long, long, long time. I’ve just never had the gumption to start training and sign up. But there, on top of that mountain, as all of my friends were talking about a half-marathon in December, I found the courage to commit.

Training (which only started a handful of days ago) has been going well, dare I say…its been enjoyable. Last night I went running with three friends: one is my roommate who is also looking to challenge herself, another is a friend who has never run more than a mile in her life (she’s run almost 8 miles over the past 4 days) and the last is a new friend who has always wanted to run the December half-marathon but never has.

Only then, as we were running and sharing our stories of commitment and fear, did I realize how much I needed this and how great it’s going to feel when I not only cross the finish line but cross half-marathon off of  my bucket list.

I know that I’ll continue to add to my bucket list but maybe one thing that I need to add, which should go right at the top of the list, is “Do Things On Your Bucket List.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 3:56 pm

    You go girl! Love this post!

    • August 4, 2010 3:58 pm

      Thanks!! You’ve definitely been an inspiration. Maybe I’ll be able to convince you to do the one in December…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

