Skip to content

To Blog or Not to Blog?

August 5, 2010

It struck me ironic that, during the same week in which I re-instated my blogger identity, the topic of a blog and the idea of blogging has come up time, after time, after time. Someone is creating a blog, another is critiquing, and everyone in between is discussing what it means to own a blog and be a blogger.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, owning a blog is no joke.

By definition a blog is simply a type of website or part of a website that is usually maintained by one person. That’s the easy part. Where it starts to get tricky is content.  I’m of the opinion that there can typically be no right or wrong when it comes to what a blogger chooses to write about. A blog, after all, is about a person’s right to express their thoughts, feelings, opinions, likes, dislikes and general points of view.

People express one, some, or all of the above on a daily basis. Can you even imagine a day where you didn’t express what you were thinking or how you were feeling? It’s so easy to say these things out loud but when it comes to writing them down, many of us choose to walk, or run, in the opposite direction. Why?

  • “People aren’t going to care or read what I write about”
  • “What am I going to write about?”
  • “I’m going to sound or look stupid”

The reasons and statements above are the road blocks that prevent countless numbers of people from becoming bloggers and all three have one thing in common. Fear. I know that even I have said that owning a blog is no joke but the reasons I listed above, which, without a doubt, are the top three, should not prevent someone from taking a leap of faith and stepping outside of their comfort zone.

Do I worry about what other people will think when they read my blog posts. Absolutely. I’d be 100% lying to you if I said anything otherwise. If they like what they read that’s awesome. If they don’t, and I know that there are those who won’t, then they’re not likely to come back. You can’t please everyone. 

Do I sometimes get anxiety and sweaty palms wondering what my next blog topic will be? Without a doubt. The thing is, not every blog post is going to be an amazing, thought-provoking, Pulitzer Price winning blog post. If it’s a topic I’m passionate about or a thought I want to put out there, I’m going to write about it. No questions asked.

The reason I chose to write about this topic was because every time blogging has come up over the past week, fear has been the focus of discussion. Fear is a powerful emotion but it is only as strong as you allow it to be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 1:58 pm

    Great points, Genevieve. I’ve learned when you blog to temper your expectations. I’ve had those sweaty palms when deciding whether or not to push the “publish” button before and had the post be received very, very well. I’ve also been super pumped about a post and then, afterwards, felt like it didn’t even make a tiny ripple in the vast landscape of the Internet.

    What it comes down to for me is, you can’t blog for other people. Note, I’m not saying that you don’t want to keep your audience in mind when you’re writing. Let’s be frank though, if you are blogging for the sole purpose of trying to impress others and drop some serious knowledge on the web, then you’re setting yourself up for disappointment.

    For me, blogging is a way for me to more clearly think through ideas and even get input on those ideas from other people. It’s been a great avenue for meeting others and even leading to collaboration on various projects. So, you shouldn’t necessarily be selfish in an egotistical sense, but you should be selfish in a self-appreciation sense. Don’t put yourself through that 🙂 (not “you” as in YOU, but “you” as in bloggers)

  2. August 5, 2010 2:03 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. I try not to think of meeting everyone else’s expectations and standards when I blog. It will just set me up for failure. Sometimes, being selfish, can be an extremely good thing 🙂 You keep up your great blogging as well!

Leave a Reply

