Skip to content

Believer v. Non-Believer

August 10, 2010

A lot of people do not believe in fate because, they say, believing in fate would mean that we are not accountable for our own actions. A fair and understandable statement for the practical and logical folk out there. But I’m far from practical or logical.

I’m an idea’s girl who thrives on possibility, creativity and spontaneity. So when it comes to fate, I’m a believer right down to my core.

When you’ve lived in 4 different countries and moved more times than you can remember the phrase “things happen for a reason” becomes more than a mantra, it becomes a way of life. It’s at the root of how you rationalize and justify. I’m not complaining by the way…far from it. In fact, I wouldn’t change a single thing about my life up until now because it’s the way that my life has played out up until now that has made me such an ardent believer in fate.

Yes, I’m accountable for my own actions and yes I can control what I do or do not do….most of time. But sometimes, don’t you find yourself heading down one path (the path you firmly believe is the right one) when all of a sudden something or someone happens and you’re going down a completely and utterly different path. It’s a path so vastly different from the one you originally set out on that you want to stop and yell out “WHAT AM I DOING?!” You’re not sure how or why you got there but deep down, in the very bottom of your gut, you know that it’s the right path. You’re meant to be there.

A little out there for some of you I’m sure. But I know that each of you, no matter how practical or logical, have had that thought at one point in your life.

So why is it that we spend so much of our time over-analyzing and dissecting each thought we have, each move we make and each feeling that we feel? Why is it that we can’t just let go and trust that the decisions we make and the feelings that we feel are what they are because…well that’s what they should be. Why does there have to be a rhyme and a reason for everything?

Where and when along the way did we lose that ability to simply believe?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lelia King permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:40 pm

    I believe – in you!!

Leave a Reply

