Skip to content

When I Grow Up…

August 22, 2010

We have choices. Life is about choices. That’s the beauty and the downfall of it all.

When you’re young the world is your oyster. You can say anything, do anything, be anything that you want to be. One day you’re the prima princess ballerina and the next you’re wearing your mother’s high heels pretending to tromp through the white house as the first female president. Or maybe you’ll walk on the moon, be a professional tennis player or sing on stage.

Whatever your heart desires, whatever your choice may be, you’re supported and encouraged by those around you to reach for the stars and your dreams. It doesn’t matter how unrealistic, you’re still told that you can be and do whatever it is you want as long as you put your mind to it.

That type of encouragement is invaluable because it lifts us up and lets us know that no dream is too big or too small to pursue.

For the longest time I wanted to be a professional tennis player. I spent hours and hours on the tennis court, gave up weekends and afternoons to practice, practice, practice. I did it because I loved it and being on the tennis court made me feel complete. Everything made sense when I held a racquet. Sure, I had bad days (I didn’t take losing well) mixed in with the good but it never mattered because my parents were always one step behind me, encouraging me every step of the way.

Then one day, I didn’t want to be a tennis player anymore. My dreams took a different path and moved more into the academic realm. I wanted to be a science nerd and at one point I actually thought I could make it through college level organic chemistry in one piece. So young and foolish. But science was my passion (at the time) so I pursued it. Science nerd was followed by the desire to join culinary school (a blip on the radar)…which was then followed by a career in public relations…then event planning…then back to public relations…and now its social media.

As I said before, life is all about choices and mine has been full of them. I wanted and still want to live in a carefree world where I could and can jump from one dream to the next. Unfortunately, when you grow up you seem to lose some of that “reach for the stars” free will. Instead it’s find something you’re good at and stick with it. Don’t be a wayfarer jumping from career to career. And that’s not to say that we’re no longer encouraged to pursue our dreams (my parents encourage and will continue to encourage me every day of my life). It’s that we become too scared to try. We’re afraid to let go and have some fun.

Tonight my yoga instructor asked us to try a new position, the name of which completely escapes me. She asked that we take a leap of faith and just try. Try to push ourselves as far we could. Children, she said, are always willing to have fearless fun and try new things. It was as if she was telling us to just take ourselves back to childhood and trust again.

A friend told me recently that he wanted to be just like one of his favorite bloggers when he grows up. That friend is only a few years older than myself. His words “when I grow up” struck a chord with me.

Even though I’m no longer a child clomping around in my mother’s high heels, why can’t I continue to reach for my dreams and say, “I want to own my own company, be a social media rock star and end up on The Today Show when I grow up.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 7:41 am

    Love this post!!

Leave a Reply

