Skip to content

Paying it Forward

August 30, 2010

Do unto others as you would have done unto you. These are words that have become as familiar to each of us as our own name.

From a young age, we are taught to help people whenever possible. We are taught that providing for others when they are in need is the right thing to do, the responsible thing to do. We’re taught to think this way because we want others to lend a hand when our time of need comes along.

We’re taught to help people but are we ever taught how to humble ourselves and ask for that help when we may not want to? No, we’re not. We’re not told what it feels like to step down from that pedestal, swallow our pride, and ask for that one thing we’ve been told to always give to others.

Having been in that situation, I can tell you that it’s an eye opening, humbling and character changing experience. That one situation can teach you more about yourself than you ever imagined.

One morning I woke up happily employed. I never imagined that less than 12 hours later I would be driving home, jobless, feeling more lost and afraid than I ever had before.  I never thought that I would have to step down from my pedestal and ask one person after the next for their help.

It’s humbling but it is an experience that I am appreciative of every day. Every. Single. Day. It taught me that asking for help is just as important as giving it.

I was reminded of that this weekend when I was given my chance to pay it forward and help a recent graduate navigate through the sea of the unemployed. As we sat discussing her hopes and she dreams, she revealed how nervous she was, how hard it was for her to put herself out there and ask for help.

Her words took me back to a year ago when I was in her exact position and it reminded me that we should never be above asking for help. We should never be too afraid to let our guard down and allow others to help us rise back up and stand on our feet.

You never know what position you may find yourself in on any given day. So what we should teach ourselves now is to pay it forward and always ask for help when we need it and give it when it is needed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 8:14 pm

    Great Post!!!

  2. August 30, 2010 9:14 pm

    Genevieve, you have paid it forward so many times before now. You are one of the most generous people I know! And your happiness is contagious. Thank you for this great reminder for those of us that need to step back and remember that people have helped us along the way, and that we too should pay it forward.

    P.S. I love that movie.

  3. Cathy permalink
    August 30, 2010 9:18 pm

    This is one of those moments when you look back on years of parenting and realize that it was all worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

