Skip to content

Where I Am Today

November 1, 2010

I was asked recently how I got to where I am today. It is a simple question in nature but yet; it is a question that stops me dead in my tracks. Every. Single. Time.

When someone poses this question, does your mind instantly race back to where it all started? Mine does.

Are you meant to give them the Cliff’s Notes version or are you meant to really dig deep? Explain to them that you grew up wanting to be one thing but then you made this decision, which lead you down a different path where you found yourself making another decision, one you never thought you’d make, and now here you sit…where you are today.

The more I think about it, as I sit here typing, my mind racing in a million different directions, even the Cliff’s Notes version would be longer than necessary. At least my version would be and I’m willing to bet that, today, everyone else’s would be as well.

You start off with a dream, a vision, in mind of where you’ll go and what you’ll become. I know I did….kind of. I was briefly sidetracked by an overwhelming desire to become the next Rachael Ray (a short-lived fantasy that I’ll perhaps return to later in life).

So there you are, ready to take on the world, with your dream in one hand and coffee in the other. You step out into that big wide world and then…BAM! life comes at you…fast. You’re forced to make decisions that you weren’t anticipating on making and that dream, that vision you once held starts to change its shape.

When my dream first morphed into something different, I went into panic mode. What would I do? How was I to cope not living up to my own expectations? But once the panic subsided and my palms stopped sweating, I realized that it was ok if things changed. It was ok if I didn’t follow the path that I had originally laid out for myself.

I never thought I’d live in New York City. I never thought I’d work for a company that resembled the real life version of the Devil Wears Prada. I never thought I’d move to Charlotte, North Carolina. I never thought I’d lose my job and remain unemployed for almost a year. And never in my wildest dreams did I think I would spend my days researching, learning and teaching something called “social media.”

How did I get to where I am today? I made decisions. Many, many decisions. Some wild, some crazy, some safe. None of which I regret and none of which I would change.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 3:26 pm

    Gen – great blog entry! It definitely describes my experiences over the last year! I guess you make it work, right? I’m thankful for our unemployed stints though; otherwise how likely is it that we would have become involved with RideTZ? Hope you’re doing well! Everyday I drive by an Allen Tate Panthers Purrsuit billboard in downtown W-S and think of you!

Leave a Reply

