Skip to content

Taking the Wheel

November 3, 2010

“What is a movie that you could watch over and over again?”

A random question but it’s one that I enjoy asking people. I believe that the movie of choice says something about a person. It tells me if he or she is a hopeless romantic, an eternal optimist, a light-hearted laugher or a dreamer with endless amounts of imagination.

For me, personally, the choice is more often than not a hard one to make.

You see, I’m one of those unfortunate people who has the ability to watch just about any number of movies over and over and over again. I don’t even have to start them from the beginning. I can tune in 20 minutes after it’s started, midway through or 20 minutes until closing curtain (this rare gift has in fact made me the target of many an angry glare and the occasional reprimanding from my mother who has never quite understood).

This time around, however I have one movie in mind (fear not darling mother of mine, I’m not about to wax poetically about The Holiday). Today, my choice is the forever classic “He’s Just Not That Into You.”

Beyond the comedic relief that I’m routinely provided, I have fallen in love with this movie because, and I can’t believe I’m about to type this, I can relate to it. In some capacity or another, for better or for worse, I have been one of the women who is portrayed in this make you laugh, make you cry story.

In my latest viewing of this time-honored treasure, I was truly taken with one quote:

“I had this guy leave me a voice mail at work, so I called him at home, and then he emailed me to my BlackBerry, and so I texted to his cell, and now you just have to go around checking all these different portals just to get rejected by seven different technologies. It’s exhausting.”

Ok, so the rejection part of that particular quote is brutal but this isn’t about rejection. It’s about the technology and the exhaustion that comes with it all. Dating has always been somewhat exhausting but now, with all of these different portals, the way we play the game, the dating game, has changed…forever.

Today, it’s easy to simply hide behind a profile be it Facebook, Twitter, MySpace or whatever your platform of choice may be. I’m as guilty as the next person. Believe me, the thought of having to truly step out from behind my digital curtain and put myself out there is enough to make my knees quiver and my palms sweat. Fellas, hats off to you every time you come up to one of us in a social setting. That takes confidence and courage.

Today we have fully embraced the digital world. It helps us stay connected and keep in touch. But on small level does it hold some of us back from letting our guard down, taking a risk and putting ourselves out there. Perhaps.

As for me, I’m going to try as hard as I can to push that curtain aside, take the wheel and enjoy the ride.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Josie Mazzaferro permalink
    November 17, 2010 2:35 pm

    This cracked me up, again not because it was inherently funny, but because I could relate to it. It is not uncommon for my husband and I to communicate throughout the day using a combination of facebook, e-mail, text message, voicemail. Invariably, one of us misses a message left on one of these various platforms and we’re left trying to figure out where the other is and what the heck the deal is. And sometimes, when my husband is sitting upstairs with his laptop watching some show I’m just not into, while I’m sitting downstairs with my laptop watching a better show, I’ll get an instant message from him asking me to put popcorn in the microwave and he’ll come down and get it in 3 minutes. LOL

Leave a Reply

