Skip to content

The Best Four Years of Your Life

November 14, 2010

The best four years of your life. That’s what they tell you, with that longing look in their eye, as you get ready to experience the time-honored tradition known as college.

The best four years of your life. What they don’t tell you is that those four years are also defining, eye-opening, life-altering years that fly by faster than you can blink. One minute you’re a freshman on move-in day, running around like a chicken with your head cut-off, in search of those forever friends and then the next you’re sitting at your graduation, freezing, as the snow comes pouring down around you…oh wait, that was just me on MY graduation.

The “best four years of my life” have come and gone and now, as I sit here, I’m reminded of the fact that I’ve been out of college longer than I was in it. Were they the best four years of my life? The jury is still out on that one. Don’t get me wrong; those years were filled with amazing and unforgettable memories complete with friends I’ll have for life. But I hate to think that I’ve already experienced the best four years of my life.

I love recounting tales, trials and tribulations from college. And in fact, I’ve been doing a lot of that recently as I’ve spent the past two weekends near or on college campuses. What’s my favorite story? It’s one that takes me back to the very beginning, back to where it all started:

It was sunny and warm, a novelty for a campus where it snowed more often than not. We were only one of two cars to park at the Admissions Office the day before I was scheduled to hand myself over to Colgate University. I remember looking in awe into the other car. It was so packed with someone’s belongings that I was nervous to breath on it in fear it would explode.

All four of us, my father, mother, sister and I, walked around the car, eyes wide in amazement, when my mother noticed pink initials embroidered on one of the many, many items. I walked over to her and stared at the initials in bright pink yarn: H H D.

“What if this is your roommate?!” My mother, so excited, was 100% positive that the car, filled to the brim, belonged to one of my future roommates. I, clearly always being right, brushed it off.

As we marched up the hill I’d come to curse on icy mornings, I noticed a blonde girl, roughly my age, trudging up that same hill with her parents. As I made my way to my future place of residence, so did she. As I marched up the four flights of stairs I’d come to curse on every morning, so did she. As I made my way down the hall I’d come to love, so did she.

All the while, my mother was nudging me with what I can only assume was a knowing, smug grin. I remember thinking to myself that there was no possible way that the only other girl on campus at that current moment was my future roommate

Well, long story kind of short, that blonde girl following me around did turn out to be my roommate. And later, she became more than that. She was my roommate, best friend and partner in crime during those best four years of my life.

Nine years later, we’re still the best of friends.

So, what is your favorite “best four years of my life” memory?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. HHD permalink
    November 14, 2010 9:52 pm

    Wait– that’s ME!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I don’t know much about this blog or tweet stuff but I “like” this post the most of any I’ve ever read. *POKE* ❤

  2. November 14, 2010 9:55 pm

    I think you’re a little biased my dear 🙂 I’ll NEVER EVER forget that day and still have that picture of us outside our Andrews 401 dorm room door 🙂

Leave a Reply

