Skip to content

Two Words

December 18, 2010

Two words don’t seem like a lot. In fact, more often than not, two words don’t really amount to much. When you split them apart those two words have even less value. So why is that when those two words are “thank” and “you” do they carry such weight, power and meaning?

This morning I was sitting in the Charlotte Douglas International Airport waiting to catch my flight home for the holidays. As I was waiting by the gate I was struck by how many military uniforms there were in the area where I was sitting. I don’t fly that often but when I do I only see one camouflage outfit every now and then. Today, it was literally an army of uniforms.

Just as I was about to pack up my belongings, the two captains of my flight approached the two men in uniform sitting next to me.  Each captain shook the hand of each soldier and thanked him. They didn’t say “thank you for what you do” or “thank you for serving our country” (both of which would have meant a great deal), instead they just said “thank you.” Then, those same captains moved throughout the crowd and thanked each and every soldier traveling on our flight. Each time, shaking hands and simply saying “thank you.”

When those same men and women boarded our flight, everyone seated in our area began to clap. Some standing, some seated, but all of us clapping in unison. It was our way of saying thank you.

Saying thank you is simply the act of combining one word with another. It is the emotion behind that act that allows those two words to carry more weight than any other in the human language. And that weight is not measured by inches, yards, liters or pounds but rather by kindness, love, sincerity, compassion and gratitude.

Thank you. Just two words. Two very simple words that can make all the difference in the world.

When was the last time you said, “thank you?”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 9:56 am

    I am not sure if I’ve said it enough to you – THANK YOU for being a great friend, and for sharing your heart with the blog world. 😉 You are amazing!

    • December 20, 2010 5:24 pm

      Thank you my dear! You as well have been a tremendously wonderful friend 🙂

  2. Petal Petunia permalink
    December 21, 2010 6:49 am

    I sent that to all my friends….so uplifting. Thank you. xx

Leave a Reply

