Skip to content

2010: The Year of My Database

December 31, 2010

I think I’ve written about 100 different opening sentences for this blog post. The last one I’ll write for 2010. I want it to be impactful. I want it to be meaningful. I want it to be powerful. As usual, I’m setting the bar way to high for myself (it’s a habit I can’t seem to shake and the jury is still out on whether or not I think it’s a good trait to have or a bad one).

I came up with all of the usual cliché’s that too often start a “year in review blog” and each time I quickly hit the backspace button hoping that some sort of light bulb would go off before I watched the last letter disappear. No such luck. So, as I’ve been told many a time, I took a break. Walked away. Tried to free myself from the expectation of writing a ground breaking opening for this blog post.

I watched “Eat, Pray, Love” with a friend and only then, when I least expected it, did I find the inspiration I needed. It was the idea of “one word.” One word that you feel defines a person or place.

I’m breaking the rules (because I can) and choosing one phrase spoken by Jeff Pulver to define what 2010 meant to me: “You live and die by your database.”

My database is my family, my friends and the network that I’ve seen blossom this year. I live and die by my database because…

  • When I was still unemployed you picked me up when I didn’t feel like I could put one foot in front of the other.
  • You have helped me learn more about who I am and who I want to be both professionally and personally.
  • You helped me celebrate when I finally dug myself out of unemployment and landed a job.
  • I’ve had some of the best laugh till I’ve cried and can’t breathe moments because of the stories, pictures and websites you have shared.
  • You have been my sounding board and my team of brainstormers.
  • You took a chance and met me for lunch, coffee or drinks even though we didn’t really know each other.
  • Day or night, no matter the time, you’ve been there.
  • You encouraged me to get over my fears and start this blog.

For all the things you’ve done, I wanted to say thanks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 11:20 am

    Wow. What an inspiring and thoughtful post (also beautifully written.) I am happy that I am in your database, world, extended family, circle of friends and colleagues. I wish you lots of laughter, memorable experiences, and fun adventures in the new year. xxxx

  2. Lee Dahlen permalink
    December 31, 2010 12:47 pm

    Knocked it outta the park! Awesome Job!

  3. chuck overman permalink
    December 31, 2010 4:50 pm

    Nicely done. Stay Strong & Have Courage

  4. December 31, 2010 11:42 pm

    You are fabulous and one of the things I am thankful about this year is meeting you.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

