Skip to content

Unconditional Love

January 5, 2011

Unconditional love. It comes into our lives infrequently but when it does it is enough to change us forever. I am fortunate enough to include myself amongst those who have found and experienced this type of life-altering love.

Unconditional love found my family 14 and a half years ago out in the Midwest. I will never forget the trip to pick her up. When we finally got to our destination we eagerly walked inside a house to scoop up our white ball of fluffy unconditional love. There were only a few left when we got there, each cuter than the rest, save one scraggly looking fluff ball. We were handed our perfect pup and walked back to the car, my sister and I barely able to contain ourselves.

Just as we were pulling away, the woman of the house came running outside with the scraggly looking fluff ball we had seen earlier. She had made a mistake and given us a male instead of a female. She grabbed adorable out of my hands and handed me scraggly. When she shut the door, the four of us sat there staring not at each other, but at what was sitting in my lap.  There she was, our scraggly bundle of unconditional love.

Through thick and thin, high point and low point, move after move, Molley dog was one of the best things that has ever happened to my family because of the unconditional love she provided.

Tonight I got the call that I have been dreading. The phone call to tell me that the light of our unconditional love had finally gone out. I have been trying to prepare myself for this moment because I knew it would come sooner rather than later.  No matter how hard you try, you can never prepare yourself for these types of emotions. These types of emotions have no label, no name.

I will forever be thankful for the time I had to spend with her this past Christmas. We were unsure if she would make it that far.  But it’s clear that she needed our love just as much as we needed hers. She held on long enough to show her unconditional love one more time and to say her goodbyes.

Even though the pain and the hurt is unbearable, I know that I would rather feel these nameless emotions than never have had the chance to experience and feel the unconditional love my darling dog gave to me and mine.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 7:40 am

    We will miss Molley so much. I shall always cherish what you have written here about her, about unconditional love, about life.

  2. January 5, 2011 7:55 am

    The great joy and excitement Molly expressed when greeting those she knew will always be in my mind. You became the center of her universe and she wanted you to feel the love.

  3. January 5, 2011 8:36 am

    I’ve got tears in my eyes. What a wonderful memorial to a wonderful companion! I’m so dreading the day that my little boys are called home, but like you, I know that my life has been made better because of the time I’ve got to spend with them. to you.

    • January 5, 2011 8:37 am

      That last line was supposed to say “Hugs to you”. I put brackets around Hugs (twitter reflex) and I guess it did something in HTML that eliminated the word 😉

  4. January 5, 2011 9:39 am

    Oh Genevieve, I am so sorry to hear about the loss of Molley. What a beautiful post that is full of emotion and love. There truly is nothing like having to put a family pet down – especially when they’ve been such a huge part of your family for so many years. I will be thinking of you.

  5. SusanHil permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:24 am

    I’m sorry about Molley, it’s so hard to lose our sweet furry friends; they really DO give us the best love. This is such a lovely tribute to her, she was very lucky to have found your family.

  6. Nicole permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:18 pm

    Oh Genevieve…I know how much it hurts to say goodbye to a furry family member. I’m certain Molley knew how much you & your family loved her so. Thinking of you…

  7. Paul permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:09 pm

    We feel thankful that we got to see Molley over the weekend. Other than her “spells” she was still the same old girl. I know you will miss her when you next get home. We’ll be thinking of you.

  8. Susan Murray permalink
    January 5, 2011 11:04 pm

    Genevieve…what a heartbreakingly beautiful post. It brought tears to my eyes. I am so so sorry and can only imagine how difficult this must be for all of you. Don’t worry about your mom – I will take care of her. xoxo

  9. Jason permalink
    January 6, 2011 9:09 am

    I’ve experienced the loss of a dog on more than one occasion. It’s an extremely tough time, so sorry to hear about your family’s loss of Molley. Sounds like she was a beautiful part of the family. You’re in our thoughts.

  10. Iris shea permalink
    January 6, 2011 4:34 pm

    My heart goes out to you Gen…
    you wrote such a beautiful tribute to Molley the dolly…

    love
    Iris

  11. January 7, 2011 8:00 pm

    I’m so sorry Genevieve. My wife and I have two little furry family friends. It’s painful to even think about losing them, so I feel for you. Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Carolyn permalink
    January 10, 2011 6:37 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about Molley, but thank you for writing this post. My childhood dog passed away two Thanksgivings ago and my parents got a puppy this past summer. He unfortunately died on New Years Day, was hit by a car. It is really rough on my mom right now, but I’m going to send her this post and I think it will help a great deal. It’s always the worst part of being a pet-owner, the inevitable end, but your post made it clear why many of us are still passionate pet-owners. So thank you Genevieve!

Leave a Reply

