Skip to content

Where Do You Find Inspiration?

March 24, 2011

Yesterday I wrote about passion. I’ve wanted to write about passion for weeks now but never knew how to get started or where to turn my focus. As I said, passion has the ability to make everything seem crystal clear the one moment but then foggy and discombobulated the next. I’m still trying to find my way out of the fog and when it came time to write about my passion I was at a loss for words.

I sat. Staring at a blank screen. Watching the cursor blink at me, on, off, on, off. Willing me to write. Daring me to say something inspiring and earth-shattering. Why I continually set the bar that high is beyond me. It’s ridiculous and idiotic.

So instead, I just wrote. I wrote what I was thinking and feeling at that moment in time and good lord did it feel good to finally just get words down on “paper.” I need to get it through my head that I’m never going to be the next Seth Godin, Darren Rowse or Gary Vaynerchuck. They have passions all their own and, try as we might, none of us can replicate those passions.

Passion is individual and unique. It cannot be duplicated and mass produced.

But I digress because this is not another post about passion. It is a post about writing and finding the inspiration to write.  I’ve had many people tell me that I should “write from the gut” or “if you have time to write a grocery list you have time to write a blog post.” While these are sage words of advice and I know them to be true, I have found that I can only write, and write well, when I’m inspired. Not necessarily motivated, but inspired.

Inspiration ignites something within me and pushes me to move beyond that mental block that too often holds me back. So, to find the inspiration that I so desperately need and crave, I’ve been taking 20 minutes out of my day to watch a TED Talks video that I select at random.  These videos are undoubtedly some of the best sources of inspiration I’ve found and for part of my day it is a pleasure to watch rather than read inspiration.

Yesterday I watched this video. I dare you to feel un-inspired after watching it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

