Skip to content

My Trip to South Africa: The Beginning

May 10, 2011

Where to even begin? I’m slightly at a loss. Trying to find the words to describe the experience I’ve just had feels like grasping at straws. There are certain moments and experiences where words, no matter how eloquent or full of meaning, just simply fall short. There are times when words just simply won’t do. Nevertheless, I vowed to blog about my trip to South Africa, so here goes nothing 🙂

For those who may not know, I was born in South Africa. It is where the vast majority of my extended family lives and while my family moved away when I was four years old and I am now an American citizen, it is a place that will forever hold a special place in my heart.

The reason for our return to South Africa this time around was for the wedding of a dear friend whom I have known since our diaper days together. She is also my godsister as she is my mother’s goddaughter and I am her mother’s goddaughter.

I can’t even begin to count the memories we’ve made together. There are just too many, the best of which include her first trip to the United States for her 16th birthday where we celebrated in style tearing up Disney World, my first solo international trip to South Africa for her 21st birthday where we rung in the New Year and her birthday on the beach in the Eastern Cape of South Africa and lastly her return trip to the United States to introduce me and family to her boyfriend (now husband).

When I learned about Gabi’s engagement, I was en route to Atlanta and almost swerved into another lane of traffic when my mother trumpeted forth the news over my hands-free Bluetooth speaker. I remember feeling so incredibly excited knowing one of my oldest friend’s was engaged and that I would be traveling back home to see her get married. 

My mom, me, Gabi and Lesley

I never expected her to ask me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. When I read her email asking me to be one of her bridesmaids, I was overcome with emotion (I am even tearing up now recalling that moment). Her asking me to be in her wedding meant the world as our mother’s had been bridesmaids in each other’s weddings when they got married. It was finally our turn to share that moment and experience with one another.

From that moment on, I began the epic countdown till our trip. I wanted time to pass at lightning speed (my dad always tells me that I spend too much time wishing my life away) and now, as I sit here typing, I would give anything to turn back the hands of time and do it all over again, from start to finish.

So what happened during our trip? You’ll have to wait for Part II to find out 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2011 10:25 pm

    Your dad is a smart man. 😉 What a wonderful experience, Genevieve. Great first leg of telling us this story.

  2. May 11, 2011 3:24 pm

    I can’t wait for Part II!

  3. Gabrielle Wojtowitz permalink
    May 15, 2011 3:30 pm

    Gen, it’s lovely! Thank you for your blog, I loved reading it. Garon and I were saying today how we would love to relive it again too. It was perfect.

Leave a Reply

