Skip to content

My Trip to South Africa: The Perfect Wedding

May 13, 2011

As little girls we dress up our dolls in the most appropriate attire we can find and align them all accordingly for the wedding of the day. Then, as we get a little older, we dress up, transform and imagine ourselves into a world where we are the ones walking down the aisle to marry our Prince Charming. As time continues to pass our ideas of what we want our special day to look like may change but those changes are never extremely dramatic in nature.

Each girl has some sort of dreamed up notion, one she concocted from an early age, of what she hopes her wedding day will look like. I was one of those girls. I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted everything to look, feel and smell like. It was all about the big day itself.

That idea and picture could not be more different after having been a part of what I believe was the perfect wedding.

When I look back on Gabi and Garon’s wedding, be it today, tomorrow or years from now, what I will remember the most is not the decorations or the dress. As beautiful and breathtaking as both were, when I look back I will remember and cherish a day in which family, friends and love played the starring roles.

Gabi and Garon’s wedding brought together friends and family from all over the world. Guests traveled from Australia, the United Kingdom, South America, Texas, Pennsylvania and North Carolina to not just attend but be a part of something truly unforgettable.

I will always remember…

  • Dropping off my father at the men’s golf outing where my mother delayed tee-off because a group photo to document the moment was an absolute must have.
  • The embarrassment my mother and I felt when we discovered we were the only one’s giving Gabi practical dish towels for her bridal shower instead of the sexy lingerie everyone else and their mother had bought.
  • Being witness as darling Gabi put on one embarrassing “accent outfit piece” after another the night we celebrated her Hen’s party in true fashion.
  • Taking over the living room with the rest of the girls as we oohed and ahhed over the Royal Wedding while making the CD’s that would serve as Gabi and Garon’s wedding gift to everyone.
  • Putting on my creative cap with Emily, a fellow bridesmaid, as we nervously designed, assembled and finalized not only our bouquets but the bouquet for the bride herself (no pressure).
  • Spending a morning getting hair and makeup done with girls who had gone from strangers to good friends in a matter of minutes.
  • Everyone coming together to put the final touches on the wedding cake (which the bride made herself) and the center pieces.
  • The nerves I felt the moment right before it was my turn to walk down the aisle and the rush of emotion and tears that overcame me as I watched one of my oldest friends tell her soon-to-be husband “I do.”
  • Sitting in an open jeep with the rest of the bridal party, drinking champagne, and turning to my left to see a giant giraffe staring at me.
  • Dancing my butt off with everyone at that wedding (bride included) underneath the stars until the wee hours of the morning.
  • Tearing through the South African bush on an ATV (aka quad bike). And by tearing, what I really mean is crawling because I was the slowest person out there J
  • Ending the wedding weekend extravaganza with a low-key evening around the fire reminiscing about all the memories we had made.

A wedding is about a man and woman coming together but it is also about the friends and family they bring together. Many of us who were a part of Gabi and Garon’s wedding had never met each other before but, after the few days that we spent together, we walked away friends for life.

It is something I will never forget.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 8:50 pm

    I haven’t read your previous posts about this wedding but I must say this piece was absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

